Saturday, 12 December 2009

Still in England..

So looks like we're in England for Christmas! We're all getting a bit fedup of waiting around now, and trying to formulate plan F's and G's, but really until our house sells we're a bit stuck.

We did go to PEI for a week in November (I meant to post about it at the time, but I decided to be ill instead). We are now permanant residents of Canada! It's kind of exciting, though also weird, as we're still not there. But it's a bit plus that the last forms went through OK. We actually had a really productive trip, and got SIN numbers, driving licenses, bank accounts, and health cards sorted. The rest of the week we drove around looking for houses, flats, basements, tents for Jordan to live, as he was planning on staying there. He ended up coming back with us to England though I know he is itching to go back.

As for me, I've been considering taking the plunge mid January, early February (if the house still hasn't sold) though depending on how things go, I could end up waiting for the house too. Have been keeping up to date with all the job openings but I haven't seen the one thats 'perfect' just yet. Though it doesn't really help that I can't make up my mind exactly what I'm looking for. I just hope that I'll recognise it if/when it appears!

So for now, I'm still in England. Hopefully things will turn around and it wont be for much longer, the worst part of the whole thing is all the waiting. Even though you try to live 'normally', you are constantly putting things on hold 'just in case'! It feels like we've been in this holding pattern for a long time now, and I just can't wait to be over there!

Tuesday, 25 August 2009

An update of sorts

Soo I'm still not in Canada yet. We will be going in November, it's looking unlikely that it will be much before then as our house has yet to be sold. Hopefully someone will realise how utterly fantastic it is (and it is, if it wasn't for the emigrating thing we would not be leaving it) and want to move in last week. Fingers crossed!

My Dad and brother did go for a 'fact finding' trip. Jordan is still there over two months later so think he's taking the 'fact' and turned it into a 'fun'. He seems to be having a great time, which is all good indicators that we'll be OK when we get over there.

I've been looking deeper into jobs and to be honest am finding it a bit depressing! Though I suppose job hunting generally is! In the main I'm looking for any sort of employment in the field of psychology, but this is made difficult due to the number of possible positions on the island and a lack of a PhD (though I have both a BSc and MSc). I have always intended to do my PhD, though the university of PEI doesn't do them in psychology so I'd have to go off island. I'm not sure this will be viable in the time immediately after the move but perhaps the year afterwards. Which means I shall have to accept something else in order to fund my desire for even more education, and my sophisticated lifestyle (books, and yarn ha!). Am still hoping for a research assistant post or something similar but in the next few weeks shall be looking closer at my other options.

Getting quite excited about the move now, have started packing things and throwing away things that should have been thrown away ten years ago. Can't believe that after all this time in just a couple of months we'll be there!

Sunday, 24 May 2009

Arrival of the family's Visa

Forgot to post about this on the day it came (though think it has only been a couple of days) but the rest of my family have finally got their Visa's! We're all all Canadian residents eeek! Exciting news that also brings up a thread of sheer terror in me!

I think in my last blog I was talking about June being our tentative moving date, this has now been put back to August. A lot of progress has been made with the house though, and we should be able to get it on the market in a couple of weeks. All being well it will sell quickly (and for the right price!). If anyone is looking for a reasonably sized house, on about 1.5 acres of land with barns, and other buildings, do let me know!

Have started looking into the job scene over there, but still haven't completely decided on what sort of job I want to be looking for. Have found a few things that I might be interested in, though it's still a little early for applying. I think my brother and Dad will be going over in the next few weeks to check out possible rentals so we'll have somewhere to live!

Nothing concrete really to report yet.. but will try to remember to keep this blog updated as soon as anything happens!

Wednesday, 11 February 2009

Receipt of Visa, New Blog... New Life!

So I did really mean to start this blog a little earlier, after someone suggested I should keep some sort of account of the emigration process.. well I never got round to it until now, though really, now is when things will start to happen! Up till now, theres just been a LOT of waiting.. but I will go into that in a moment.

I got my Visa today! It came really quick really, as I only had the letter requesting my passport a couple of weeks ago. My parents still haven't had that letter and they are getting quite frustrated (and jealous, though it's not like I'm going to go without them!). Hopefully we'll hear news from their application soon.

We haven't got a set moving date yet.. it all depends on how fast my Dad can finish the house (and then sell it!) but our tentative moving date is June. Which means I have to cram everything I want to do before then and somehow whittle down the things I want to take with me. It's funny, I wouldn't really say I am that materialistic but I like my 'stuff', and I am getting quite possessive, and don't want to leave anything behind! Except for my videos.. which I can't even seem to give away!!

Anyway.. as for the process, it seems to have taken forever, but I know we've been lucky, and as we have taken advantage of the reunite your family provincial nominnee program on PEI (Prince Edward Island!), we've got through it all a lot quicker. In October 2007 my Dad and myself went to a convention thing about emigration and was told that it can take more than 3 years to process applications for residency.. and ours has been nowhere near that long. Our nominee application was acknowledged on the 12th March 2008.. I think we submitted early February so I guess for me it's only been about a year!

So there we have it! As of today I am allowed to be a permanant resident of Canada! I don't think I can claim to be so until I have moved (I guess they can still turn me away at the door!). It is so strange to think that I am going to be moving countries! I will miss my friends a lot, and I don't think this is something I would do if my family (immediate - Mum, Dad and Jordan) weren't coming to, and although I am completely terrified, I am quite looking forward to it! Though am dreading all the organisation, planning, sorting that comes now!